Last Minute Preparations

Training is all but over.  Tomorrow is a rest day so that means I hit the gym and stretch for an eternity.  Then Saturday is a quick mile and a half run then thats it.  Then it’s race day.

This week has been crazy. It seems that most of it has been spent making sure everyone who is coming to watch is all set with their plans.  This week was also my “media week”.  I did my interview for CBS Morning Show which will air on the Monday following the marathon.  It will run nationally so everyone will have a chance to see it.  I took some pictures at the finish line for the NYRR results magazine, and today I was interviewed by the New York Times.  The article will run in tomorrows paper.  I don’t really know how to respond to all of it.  I was just running to challenge myself and raise money for CF and now it has taken on a life of it’s own.  I am so happy that CF is getting the publicity and attention and hopefully some young person with CF will see it and be inspired to follow their dreams without feeling like CF will hold them back.

I went to the expo today and picked up my race number.  It was very exciting and somewhat overwhelming down there.  A bunch of vendors selling their wares, to the point where I felt like I couldn’t really focus.  I sort of aimlessly wandered around for about 45 minutes picking up random samples of energy bars and whatever else people were handing out.  I am picturing the race in my head all the time.  I am getting emotional about half a dozen times a day thinking about it.  Sunday is going to be an amazing day.  I predict lots of tears.  Tears of joy not pain.

My lungs feel alright.  Luckily, better than last week.  The way my lungs were feeling last week was making me a bit nervous; some blood, lots of thick mucus.  Not as bad this week.  Nothing else to do but extra airway clearance and deal with whatever they feel like on race day.

I want to thank everyone who has been following me through the training.  Your support and encouragement have been a great help in getting me through this.  I couldn’t have done it without you guys. I love you all.  I’ll probably blog before the race but I wanted to say it now.

To donate to Team Boomer, fight Cystic Fibrosis and help me reach my fundraising goal you can go to  http://www.firstgiving.com/fundraiser/kevindwyer/2011INGNYCMarathon

Thanks For Reading.

And don’t forget…CF Sucks!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Last Minute Preparations

  1. Treasure's Biggest Fan says:

    I proudly wear my CF Sucks shirt in order to take the opportunity to explain who CF is and why he sucks.

  2. Terry Ahearn says:

    Great job Kevin (and Katie). You raised awareness. You raised money. You pushed yourself to physical and mental limits where few people ever dare to tread. And you have inspired your family and friends. But most of all, you have no doubt given hope to someone, somewhere who might be battling CF (mentally and physically) or might be battling some other doubt or fear or illness. The best we can do is to lead by example – to be the change we wish to see in the world. You’ve left your mark. You’ve made a difference. The blog, the fundraising, the press. And now my friend GO RUN LIKE YOU STOLE SOMETHING….

  3. Jen says:

    Couldn’t say it any better then Terry just did. You have inspired me to be a better person for my family and for my kids. To show Max that he isn’t limited by any diagnosis. He can be whatever he wants to be. Thank you for that.

  4. Craig Snyder says:

    Way to go! Yes, Sunday will be amazing – just take it all in and enjoy the party. I am running as well – if I see you will give a shout of encouragement!

  5. Susan says:

    I’m just now finding my way here thanks to a post on a CF message board. I’ve sent the link to my 21 y/o daughter w/CF, my entire family and the parents’ listserv at the clinic. Got the dvr set for Monday morning, too. Best of luck on the run and all good wishes to the entire Team Boomer. Thanks for your efforts in raising awareness.

  6. Go, Kevin. From ballet to the NYC marathon – all with CF. You are an inspiration and whatever happens, the world cheers and you win!

  7. Louis Loh says:

    All the best luck to you on Sunday! Have a great run; smile for the cameras; conquer 26.2!

  8. Zach Fischer says:

    Tomorrow, all five boroughs will be your bitch. Godspeed, Kev.

Leave a Reply

