Coughing Is Fun

This has been a struggle. I am getting nervous that I am going to be nowhere near ready for this half marathon. After my last post I went to the gym and was able to do 3 1/2 miles on the treadmill and I thought “wow, my body is already adapting and getting back to shape.” I went back the next day and I couldn’t do a mile without having to walk. It has been like that ever since. A few days later the weather was in the low 60′s here so I took my run outside. I ran/walked 4 miles. That was tough. It was more walking than running. Lots of coughing. Almost threw up about 8 minutes in because of the cough. Had a woman turn around after passing me to make sure I was alright. She was being very nice but I don’t think I will ever not feel embarrassed when I cough like that. Well, embarrassed, annoyed that I have to cough so violently, angry that I have the disease, tired of constantly fighting the disease. I could keep going here but I think you get the point. Coughing sucks and every time it happens it sets off a chain reaction of emotions.

Went running on Saturday and haven’t been since. On Sunday I woke up in the middle of the night and threw up and then had a fever all day Monday. Slept on and off the entire day. I could barely move. Fever had broke by Tuesday but was still wiped out. Today is the first day I have had an appetite¬†and a bit of energy¬†since Sunday.

Spring cannot get her soon enough!

I’m feeling a little down about all of this today. Don’t really know what to write. Perhaps my trip to the gym will help pull me out of this funk. Off I go, wish me luck.

CF SUCKS!

Thanks for reading.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Coughing Is Fun

  1. simplyblake says:

    I hope your trip to the gym went well and that you get your groove back quickly. :-)

  2. Treasure's Biggest Fan says:

    Hang in there. Brooke and I are beside you all the way even if we have to walk the whole 13.1. We are looking forward to the seafood and relieved that our slow pace will not be holding you back

Leave a Reply

