Day 4/5 Progress

Yesterday was a big day for me.  I went to the gym as I said and saw some improvement for the first time!  I usually do the run walk method on the treadmill.  2 minutes walking, 5 minutes running, two minutes walking, 5 running etc. .  I started with the normal 2 minutes but then proceeded to run for a straight 10 minutes.  I know this doesn’t sound like much but for me this was big.  I usually can’t wait for that 5 minute mark so I can stop and rest.  My breathing is labored, my lungs and legs are screaming at me and I need to cough.  But yesterday I got to 5 minutes running and thought “I’m feeling pretty good, it isn’t as hard today, let me see if I can keep going.”  Then when I got to 8 I pushed myself to keep going until 10.  Very proud of myself at that point.  Looked around at the other people on the treadmill like they should know about what I just accomplished and should be congratulating me. That lasted for about 15 seconds then I started coughing so I made sure to avoid eye contact with anyone.  Thinking to myself “this sucks.  At least when I get outside I can spit this shit out.”  Pretty gross huh!?  Welcome to my world folks.  That initial burst of energy was great but I sort of spent myself and it took some time for me to get back to a rhythm in my run.  I still only ended up averaging a 12 minute mile but it was a small step in the right direction and I ran for 3 1/4 miles.

To celebrate I drank some beers.  Speaking of drinking and eating, I have noticed that my appetite is getting huge.  I feel like I am constantly hungry.  It’s great!  I haven’t felt like this since I was dancing.  But that was because I was manorexic then….just kidding.  I’m not Natalie Portman in Black Swan.  Which reminds me, it’s time for me to go to my friends house and watch the Oscars. I hope Banksy wins and makes a mockery out of the ceremony.

Today was my rest day so no update.  Except that I started a new antibiotic today, Cayston. It loosens everything up so at first it makes me cough more than usual.  I was at a friends play today and was coughing during it and feeling self conscious.  Especially when the woman next to me looked at me at one point and then kind of covered her face.  Oh well.  I can’t help it.  It was all good since she left at intermission and I coughed less the second act.  Maybe I was allergic to her and her stank perfume?  Bitch.  No, I kid, she was wonderful.  A saint.  An amazing human.  I really do kid.  It was no big deal.

Until the next update.

Thanks for reading.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 4/5 Progress

  1. Terry Ahearn says:

    Great news. 12 minute mile is absolutely great at this point. I think focusing on continued moving (not necessarily running) for certain time intervals is perfect right now. Walk, run, walk-run, run-walk, whatever works. You will have plenty of time to pound away when the training period starts. You are right to focus on strength training at this point. Hamstrings, glutes, lower-back all areas that are typically ignored my males at the gym but are absolutely necessary for the marathon. Also, back and shoulders, which will be pumping away along with your legs. Strong core and upper-body (two strengths you already have) will take some of the work off your legs (and lungs too!). Finally, my favorite part of running outside is being able to huck loogies – totally acceptable runner behavior so you’ll fit right in….

  2. Treasure Hernandez fan says:

    Congratulations on a good day! I can totally relate to the “in public” stuff. Some hundred-year-old woman asked me the other day if I caught my cough on the ship because she had that same terrible cough, and she knew she caught it on the cruise. No, granny, I did not give you a cold. My cough is my very own…you can’t catch it. But, I suppose it’s better that she asked instead of just giving me a dirty look. I don’t admit it often, but I think that’s part of the reason I stay home so much. Just easier than feeling self-conscious all the time.
    I have no advice on the training stuff, other than keep doing it. You’re inspiring me to get my butt on the treadmill.

Leave a Reply

