Day 13

Yes!  Today was another record breaker!  I went to the gym this evening and intended to run and see how it felt after my great day yesterday.  Well, today was even better.  Although my lungs didn’t feel as clear and I was laboring more I pushed through.  With thoughts of yesterdays big accomplishment fresh in my mind I was determined to try and get to 20 minutes straight running again.  I was coughing more today. The woman next to me after initially looking at me when I coughed the first time would then turn her head in the opposite direction every other time I would cough.  Even though I cover my mouth with my hand or a towel every time I cough, it was like she was shielding her face from my germs.   Look,  I don’t blame her. When I cough it is not the most pleasant sound and I’m sure I would do the same thing if I was in her shoes.  It just sucks that I’m “that guy”  the one who is coughing all nasty at the gym and everyone is afraid they are going to get sick from me.  It sucks, it’s embarrassing and I wish it didn’t happen.  But it does.  I feel like a dick but I have to just learn to block it out.  My hope is that as the training progresses my coughing becomes less.  Then I won’t have to focus so much of my writing about it.  I don’t want this to become a blog that people are like “oh the blog about the guy with CF who whines all the time because he hacks at the gym and people are disgusted.  Get over it dude.  Holy broken record.”  My goal here is to be honest, observe and report everything about how I feel and what I’m thinking during my training.  Right now my coughing and peoples reactions to it are a big part of my experience.  Ugh.

Anyway, I was starting off struggling and I didn’t think it was going to be as great as yesterday.  I did up the speed on the treadmill and was averaging a 10 minute mile for about 12 minutes then I started to really have trouble and felt like I was going to need to stop and catch my breath.  Instead of stopping I slowed the speed down and finished out the run to 20 minutes straight running. I didn’t stop there!  I went for another 5 minutes for a grand total of 25 minutes of straight running at the fastest pace I’ve run yet!  I ran 2 miles in 21:04!  Hell Yes!  After my cool down I did a total of about 2.80 miles.  Then I rocked out some core strengthening!  Not a bad day.  Not only do I feel my body getting stronger but my mindset getting tougher.  I’m starting to figure out how to push myself through the tough parts.  Pretty cool.

CF Sucks!

Thanks for reading.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

