Day 34 Doctor visit

As the title says, today I went to see my doctor.  I was a little apprehensive and was wanting to put this visit off for maybe another month.  My reasoning is that since my lungs have been feeling so good I didn’t want to go in, get a PFT(pulmonary function test) and have my numbers either stay the same or go down.  I really didn’t feel like getting discouraged at this point in my training.

First, let me say that my doctor, Dr. Emily DiMango, is awesome!  I love her.  I always know I am in great hands when I go to see her.  Even when I am feeling sick I know that she will do everything to get me back to feeling better.  She is one of the leading doctors in the CF community.  In my opinion she is the best.  She also has an amazing staff who are totally committed to each of their patients.  My nurse, Victoria, is awesome as well.  She is a runner.  She has done numerous marathons and she is fast. Last year she ran the NYC Marathon injured and still probably ran it faster than I will.   I saw her at mile 22 last year and I was so inspired by her commitment to the race.  She was hurting but damn if she didn’t finish that race!

Well today was no different.  Everyone was amazing at the clinic.  They all know I am training so now not only are we watching my lungs our focus is trying to keep my weight stable.  I can’t afford to lose any weight during this training.  Our focus today was on ways I can get as many calories into my diet each day.  I need to be consuming massive amounts of calories.  Hey pharmaceutical companies, if you want to send me some weight gaining powders or shakes feel free.  I heard Nike is considering sending me some training gear.  Don’t get left out, be cool like Nike.  Sponsor me.

OK so my PFT’s.  Let me tell you I was a little nervous to do these today.  When doing PFT’s you do them three times.  You breathe into a tube attached to the machine.  You take a full breath in and then blow out as fast as you can for as long as you can.  There are two different measurements that are important to adult CF.  Full Vital Capacity(FVC) and FEV1 (which I’m not sure what it stands for.)  Anyway, I was right!! My lungs are up!! My FVC went up 6% and my FEV1 went up 5%!  FEV1 measures how much air you can blow out in the first second.  It can give us a good indication how much blockage is there.  Well there is 5% less blockage today than when I started my training! You don’t know how happy and excited I was when those numbers came back.  So my FVC is now at 80% and FEV1 is at 53%.  I left the office floating.  I also left with a bag full of samples of weight gaining powders, shakes, juices, bars.  It was like a CF Christmas at my doctors office today.

Bolstered by my numbers I couldn’t wait to go out and run.  I ran 4 miles in Central Park today.  It was windy and a little chilly but there was no way I was going to stop and walk after the doctors visit I had.  Two cool things about this run.  Someone had written several times “Become Your Dream” in chalk along the route I was running.  Awesome.  Then around 59th st there was an elderly woman walking along the road in the opposite direction I was running.  She was holding the NY Post and reading it to herself out loud as she walked.  When I came around for my second loop she had walked maybe a hundred yards and was still reading to herself out loud but now it was a different article.  She had an accent so I’m not sure if she was trying to practice speaking or reading english but it seemed a very NY thing to me.

I’m so ecstatic about my lungs I forgot to mention I have entered my first race.  April 23 I will be running a 4 mile race in Central Park.  My first NYRR road race.  I can’t wait.

Become Your Dream!  Great day!

CF Sucks!

Thanks for reading.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Day 34 Doctor visit

  1. Martha says:

    This is the best news I’ve heard in a long time! I may not be able to run, but you definitely inspire me to keep exercising.
    And I second your opinion about Dr DiMango and the staff at Columbia Pres.!

  2. Victoria says:

    Love the blog!
    Remember, you inspired me at mile 22! You and your girlfriend lifted me off my tired feet at a very difficult point in the run.
    Keep up with your training, eat well and there is nothing wrong with a run/walk training method. Been there, done that….
    Congrats on your PFT’s.
    V-

  3. Terry Ahearn says:

    Congratulations. Great news. And I can see from this post that you have developed the runner’s instinct – talking about how little distance the old-lady had covered when you lapped her. Go runner.

  4. Wendy says:

    Yay! Yay! and Yay!

  5. Steven in the Middle says:

    Hey Kev,

    Here is my advice for that extra calorie thingy…Order everything Chuck sized

Leave a Reply

