Day 57 Good and Bad

The last week since I posted has had some ups and downs.  Still not feeling as good as I was before New Orleans trip.  I’m trying to fight through it though.  I went to my doctor this past wednesday and received some not great news.  My lung functions are down.  I think they dipped about 4%.  This damn mutation!  Sucks how fast things can take a turn but I’m optimistic that I can get them back up.  I haven’t been running as much because of my reduced energy and increased congestion.  Although both seem to be getting better so I will hopefully start training more again.

I do have some good news.  Despite my setback, on Tuesday I was able to run the farthest distance I have ever run. 4.75 miles!  It was sloooowww but I was still very proud afterward.  Yesterday I ran another 4 miles and during the run I realized something.  When I am running and I have a breathing rhythm I feel great, but that all goes to hell when I cough.  The coughing ruins the rhythm and takes me forever to get back on track.  It would be so much better if I never coughed. But alas I do so I’m going to have to figure out how to cope and deal with it.  Anyone have any suggestions?

Last but not least,  tomorrow I am running my first race!  The NYRR 4 mile.  It was cool to go and pick up my race number from NYRR.  I went after my run yesterday.   Felt a little like a deer in headlights going in and having people swarming about that have obviously been through the routine many times before.  I just followed the crowd and tried to take it all in.  I am excited and nervous for tomorrow.  The unknown is what is making me nervous.  I don’t care how fast or slow I just want to finish.  Here is a picture of my very first race number!

CF Sucks!

Thanks for reading.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 57 Good and Bad

  1. Terry Ahearn says:

    8-1-7-2! Let’s go! That’s exciting. Getting into a breathing rhythm – even for non-CF lungs – is always a big part of what makes a run great or a struggle. I took a run last night on tired legs, and little motivation, and never got my breathing rhythm down. You have the added hurdle of lungs that are trying to convince the rest of you to stop. When you cough, back off your pace to something real easy and basically reboot your run. Get back into physical form and gradually move back into your pace. Don’t try to battle against the cough – mentally or physically. Just reset everything and get back to it. It is a marathon, not a sprint. Go runner!

  2. Wendy says:

    Merde!
    xoxox,
    W

  3. Treasure's Biggest Fan says:

    How exciting. 8-1-7-2 sounds like a lucky number to me. Play the lottery.

Leave a Reply

