breakthrough?

I’m back to running.  Yesterday I decided to go for a run and test my busted right calf.  Picked the easy lower loop of Central Park as my testing ground.  I was nervous and tentative about the run so I spent much more time than I normally do stretching before the run.  Finally I talked myself into giving it a go.  Started off slowly but soon felt like I was running pretty good.

I am pleased to report that I ran for 2.25 miles with no set backs.  Calf felt fine, lungs felt fine.  I was afraid that I had lost all my stamina in my time off but I pushed through and made it without having to stop.  So at least I won’t be starting all the way back at the beginning after my injury.  I’m excited to start back running!  Before the injury I felt that I was starting to make some progress so I want to get back to that point.

My fundraising starts now!  I have set up a donation page where people can go to support me, Team Boomer and help fund a cure for Cystic Fibrosis.  We are closer to a cure every day. Any amount you can donate will help.  Here is an article about an 11th grader in Canada who possibly just made a huge breakthrough in CF research.  Oh wouldn’t it be nice to defeat this damn disease!

Good luck to Terry and Wendy as they attack the Tough Mudder in Northern CA.!

http://gizmodo.com/5801062/high-schooler-uses-super-computer-to-potentially-cure-cystic-fibrosis

http://www.firstgiving.com/fundraiser/kevindwyer/2011INGNYCMarathon

CF Sucks!

Thanks for reading.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to breakthrough?

  1. Treasure's Biggest Fan says:

    What a talented 11th grader. Maybe the funds raised by Team Boomer will fund continuing that research.

    Terry and Wendy – I am so jealous you are doing the Tough Mudder in Cali. I just finished it in Vt. It is the best!

Leave a Reply

