Calm before the storm

It has been a slow go in my training since the injury.  My calf is feeling better.  No pain or soreness but I’m still tentative.  When I run I feel like there is still some tightness in one little area.  My workouts recently have consisted mostly of machines and stationary bike due to my fear of injury.  Even though I’m being cautious, perhaps overly cautious, I ran three miles on the treadmill today.  Then worked my legs on the machines.  My breathing was a little labored, but I attribute that to the humidity.  The air was extremely heavy today.  Even with the humidity I hardly coughed!  I guess it’s time to just throw caution to the wind and start running regularly again.

I have signed up for my next race it’s the Cystic Fibrosis Run to Breathe 10k in July. Hopefully it won’t rain and I won’t go out too fast and blow my calf out.  That should give me something to work for.  A good short term goal.

I’m looking forward to hearing from the trainer for Team Boomer so I can get on a specific workout plan for the marathon.  A specific day by day program will be good for me.  It will be a challenge to stick to it but dammit I’m committed.  One thing I keep hearing is how the hills surprise you in the marathon so I am going to make sure to do lots of hill training leading up to the race.  So until the real training starts I will do mostly strength training and short runs of 2-4 miles.  Hopefully this never ending rain will stop soon.

To donate to Team Boomer, fight Cystic Fibrosis and help me make my fundraising goal you can go to  http://www.firstgiving.com/fundraiser/kevindwyer/2011INGNYCMarathon

Thanks for reading.

CF Sucks!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Calm before the storm

  1. Jen says:

    Go Kevin, If I ever had the guts to attempt a marathon day by day training would be a must for me too. I hate hills. I am running my first 5K this weekend in Seattle. I am really hoping it won’t rain. Thanks for the inspiration to push myself and finally do this.

  2. admin says:

    Go Jen! Good luck this weekend. You can’t get away from the hills in Seattle.

Leave a Reply

