lesson learned

A very hard four miles today.  Not only was I coughing blood the whole way but I felt like I was going to pass out halfway through.  So here is the reason, I needed to eat and drink.  I made the mistake of going out on an empty stomach.  About halfway through I felt weak so I slowed down and walked.  Started to run again for a bit but felt weak.  This went on until I was running less and feeling weaker each time.  Then I realized how hungry I was.  Oops, should have eaten before the run.  Guess that’s why I was weak.  Another problem I ran into; It was hot and sunny today so I was sweating more than usual.  Which for me means I lose more salt, which means more chance to cramp.  The two water fountains I stopped at along the way were both out of order.  Yay!  So no food, more sweat and not able to rehydrate means your run is going to turn into a walk and be very challenging.  I almsot cut through the park and went home but I fought the urge and completed the 4 miles.  At least I can take that as a positive.  Chalk this up to a learning experience.  Running sucks sometimes.  Coughing blood sucks all the time.

To donate to Team Boomer, fight Cystic Fibrosis and help me make my fundraising goal you can go to  http://www.firstgiving.com/fundraiser/kevindwyer/2011INGNYCMarathon

Thanks for reading.

CF Sucks!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to lesson learned

  1. Terry Ahearn says:

    This was a run where you should have taken the short-cut home. Live to run another day. Easier said than done, I know. You must fuel your body before every run or workout. My ritual snack: banana with peanut butter. You also need to start carrying water. Both because you lose more electrolytes than the average runner and because of the humid weather you will be training in. You might as well start getting used to it. It will take awhile to find the right water bottle. It is my least favorite part of distance running (carrying fuel) but we all need it. Go runner.

  2. Wendy says:

    ANY time you eat, try to get protein, carb and fat together. Banana with pb is great, banana is the carb, pb is the protein and fat. Or if your’re going with bread, try to get protein high bread then put pb or cheese to get more protein and fat. This is how glycogen is produced and replenished in your muscles. It helps with hydration and cramping. Carrying hydration totally sucks, as if there aren’t enough things to pull your mind away from focusing and getting through a run, now a water bottle to fuss with, but Terry’s right, time to get used to it. We use the handheld ones. Keep it up, so proud. Go Runner! xoxox, W

Leave a Reply

