Back By Popular Demand

Yes, I have been away for a while.  My sister has been getting on me to start my blog up again.  So here it is Susan, back by popular demand  I had every intention to keep writing but just like my running I got a bit lazy with it.  Since the injury during my first race I feel like I have not been doing enough training or writing obviously.  I took some time away from running to let my calf heal and it has been hard to motivate myself to get back into a rhythm.  My running has been sporadic at best.  It has not helped that my lungs have been giving me problems.  Heavy and congested.  There were a few runs, the most recent a few days ago, that I was coughing straight up blood.  I’m not talking a little bit either, I’m talking a good tablespoon at a time.  Not fun!  That shit is demoralizing and a real mindfuck.  If you’re ever in Central Park and want to find me just follow the blood and mucus along the road.  Real sexy.  Wanna date?

So before my injury I was running 4 miles pretty consistently without having to stop for walk breaks.  That seems like a distant memory.  I have yet to run 4 miles without having to walk since injury.  The heat and humidity is doing a number on my lungs.  Even with all of this I am slowly getting back into a training rhythm.  I have been getting out and running more regularly.  My pace is a snails pace but dammit I’m out there. “It can’t be that slow” you say.  Well let me tell you, it’s slow. It’s bad people, real bad.  “How bad can it be?” You ask.  Put it this way, the other day while running in the park I got passed by a little girl on her bike.  “Big deal.”  You say.  Oh, I forgot to mention she was about 6 years old and she had training wheels on her little pink bike.  The tassels on her handle bars flapping in the wind as she pedaled past like some little demon child.  I swear I think I heard her say “Later sucker.” Then laugh hysterically.  Another blow to my ego.  Another demoralizing obstacle to overcome.

I feel like I need to see my doctor to get a check up.  Oh wait, I can’t because I’m having trouble with my insurance.  Like I don’t have any insurance kind of trouble.  They are saying that my policy got cancelled on May 15th.  Bad time to not have insurance!  I am in need of antibiotics and refills on some of the other lovely medications I get to take daily.  I could go on a very long winded rant about how much I hate the insurance industry and how many wasted hours I have spent on the phone dealing with imbeciles who are no help, but I’d rather save my breath for living and running.  See what I just did there?  Get it?  Long winded, save my breath.  Haha I’m so clever.  Hopefully it will get sorted out sooner rather than later.  Heath insurance industry sucks!

Ok, its not all bad.  Well the training wheel episode was pretty bad and no insurance is worse but tonight I ran 5.2 miles. The farthest I have run to date!  I only stopped to walk three times.  It took me just over an hour.  Slow yes, but I don’t care I just wanted to go for 5 miles no matter how long or difficult.  Felt good at the finish of 5 so I extended for another .2 miles.  One more mile and I’ll be ready for the 10k I’m running on July 9th.  It’s the Boomer’s Cystic Fibrosis Run To Breathe.  Todays run helped calm the nerves I was feeling when thinking if I would be able to even run 6.2 miles.  Hell yeah I can do it!

My training with Team Boomer should be starting soon.  I’m looking forward to meeting the team and coach and really beginning this crazy training journey.  November 6th here I come!

To donate to Team Boomer, fight Cystic Fibrosis and help me make my fundraising goal you can go to  http://www.firstgiving.com/fundraiser/kevindwyer/2011INGNYCMarathon

Thanks for reading.

CF Sucks!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back By Popular Demand

  1. Jen says:

    You rock running 5.2 miles. I totally get the being passed by the little girl on the bike. I am right there with you. I am having the hardest time breaking a 10 minute mile. You can totally do the 6.2 on July 9th. Hell Yeah!!

  2. Treasure's Biggest Fan says:

    I am impressed with the 5.2. Training is not supposed to be easy or everyone would do it and the accomplisment wouldn’t feel as good as it does. I am sidelined by a bad case of poison ivy and had to miss a 5 mile race today. This throws a wrench in my training for the 10K.

Leave a Reply

