Halfway!

Uh Oh!  I am getting nervous.  It is two months until the marathon.  Doubt creeping in.  Today I ran 8 miles for my long run.  Yes, I am proud that I ran that distance-the farthest I have ever run- but man my legs were screaming at me.  Every major muscle got sore and tight at one point or another out there; Quads, hamstrings, calfs, glutes.  I pushed through and did it though.  Kept telling myself to stay in the moment.  At the end of the run as I was stretching outside I got a chill.  Enough to give me goosebumps on my arms.  When I went in to take a hot shower to warm up I looked in the mirror and my lips were blue.  Has this happened to anyone?  I know they give people that mylar cape at the end of the marathon because their body temperatures plummet.  Should it be happening to me after 8 miles though?  Should I be concerned?

Lungs felt good.  Could feel I was coughing stuff up from deep in the lungs during this one.  Some small blood streaks but nothing crazy.  I’d be curious to see what my lung functions are right now.  Feel like they are clearer than they have been in a while.

I came out to the beach this morning so my run was much different terrain today.  I looked on Mapmyrun and saw a road that went through a golf course and circled around some water.  It would have been 4 miles out and 4 miles back.  Well he road went through the golf course but then turned into a dirt road through the woods and didn’t go all the way around as the map said.  Had to improvise through side streets on the way back.  While out in the woods on the dirt road I saw some deer and wild turkeys out there.  Also saw an old hippy with his dog in his van.  As he drove by me I had to stop to let him get past on the one lane dirt road.  His window was down and the smell of weed coming from his van was pungent as he thanked me.  Good day for that guy.  Good day for me too.  Can’t believe I can run 8 miles.  Wow.

To donate to Team Boomer, fight Cystic Fibrosis and help me reach my fundraising goal you can go to  http://www.firstgiving.com/fundraiser/kevindwyer/2011INGNYCMarathon

Thanks For Reading.

CF Sucks!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Halfway!

  1. Wendy says:

    8 is Great!
    Go runner!
    The chill can happen at any distance, I don’t know what causes that?
    It must be a perfect little storm… You’ll definitely want many warm layers for after the marathon, you’ll just have to get through the walk to the trucks but it’s so crowded and you’ll have Katie for body heat 🙂 Maybe safety pin your hat and gloves to your shirt or bottoms so you at least have those at the end.
    Great job on your training and perserverance! So proud and psyched for you! Can’t wait to be there to share this accomplishment with you.
    xoxoxo,
    W

Leave a Reply

